Nevada has several laws preventing certain individuals from possessing a weapon. Individuals who cannot possess a weapon include felons or those who do not have a valid permit. 

POSSESSION OF A FIREARM BY A PROHIBITED PERSON:

Under NRS 202.360, a person shall not own or have under his or her possession or custody any firearm if he or she has been considered a felon in this or any other state, is a fugitive from justice, or is an unlawful user of any controlled substance, is mentally ill or is residing illegally in the United States.  

If you have been convicted of possession of a firearm by a prohibited person, and you are a convicted felon, fugitive from justice or an unlawful user, you are guilty of a category B felony and will be punished:

  • A minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 6 years in a state prison; and
  • A possible find of no more than $5,000.

If you have been convicted of possession of a firearm by a prohibited person, and you are mentally ill or illegally residing in the US, you are guilty of a category D felony and will be punished:

  • A minimum of  1 year and a maximum of no more than 4 years in a state prison; and
  • A possible fine of no more than $5,000.

To read more information about possession of a firearm by a prohibited person, please click here

CARRYING A CONCEALED WEAPON WITHOUT A PERMIT:

Nevada has certain requirements for individuals who are allowed to obtain a permit for a concealed weapon. Such requirements include:

  • Over the age of 21
  • No outstanding warrants
  • No battery domestic violence convicts
  • Successful completion of firearm safety course
  • Must pass background check

In addition, individuals cannot carry concealed firearms in places including: airports, schools and universities, jails and prisons, and state buildings such as courthouses. 

Harsh penalties and punishments apply to individuals who are found in possession of a concealed firearm and do not have a permit or have been found in possession of the firearm in a prohibited area. 

If you have been convicted of carrying a firearm without a proper permit, you are guilty of a category C felony and will be punished:

  • A minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years in a state prison; and
  • A possible fine of no more than $5,000.

If you have been convicted of carrying a firearm in a prohibited area, you are guilty of a misdemeanor and will be punished:

  • Up to six months in county jail; and
  • A possible fine of no more than $1,000. 

Because every case is different and has its own separate circumstances, it is important to contact an experienced Las Vegas Criminal Defense attorney who can help get you the help you need. Contact Adrian Lobo at (702) 290-8998 to schedule a consultation and discuss your weapon charges today.