Nevada law has separate laws regarding sexual misconduct with students and statutory rape. Sexual misconduct with students is a serious offense that can have severe consequences in the future. Continue reading below to find out more information about sexual misconduct with students and possible defenses to this offense.

WHAT CONSTITUTES SEXUAL MISCONDUCT WITH STUDENTS?

Sexual misconduct with students is any sexual interaction including sexual, anal, fellatio, cunnilingus, penetration of any sort, masturbation, or any other lewd act between employees of a school or college and its pupils. 

It is important to note that even if the student did consent to the sexual interaction, you can still be charged with sexual misconduct. 

PUNISHMENTS AND PENALTIES FOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT WITH STUDENTS CONVICTIONS IN LAS VEGAS:

Nevada law is broken down into two subsections to describe sexual misconduct in schools and in colleges. 

NRS 201.540 describes sexual conduct between public or private school employees and the pupil and its penalties.

If a person over the age of 21 is or was employed at a school or was volunteering at a school and engages in sexual conduct with a pupil who is 14 or 15, he/she is guilty of a category B felony and will be punished:

  • A minimum term of 1 year and a maximum term of no more than 6 years in a state prison; and

  • A fine of no more than $5,000.

If a person over the age of 21 is or was employed at a school or was volunteering at a school and engages in sexual conduct with a pupil who is 16 or 17, he/she is guilty of a category C felony and will be punished:

  • A minimum term of 1 year and a maximum term of no more than 5 years in a state prison; and

  • A possible fine of no more than $10,000.

NRS 201.550 describes sexual conduct between college or university employees and the pupil and its penalties.

If a person over the age of 21 is employed by a college or university and engages in sexual conduct with a pupil who is 16 years or older, he/she is guilty of a category C felony and will be punished:

  • A minimum term of 1 year and a maximum term of no more than 5 years in a state prison; and

  • A possible fine of no more than $10,000.

Because sexual misconduct with students is a serious charge, it is imperative you contact an experienced Las Vegas criminal defense attorney who can help get you the representation and results you deserve. Adrian Lobo is a highly skilled attorney who is determined to help your case. Contact Adrian today at (702) 290-8998 to schedule a consultation.