Child abuse and neglect charges are viewed as a serious crime in Nevada. Nevada carries out hefty penalties and punishments including a lengthy prison sentence for the charges. Read the information below to learn more about child abuse, its penalties and defenses. 

WHAT CONSTITUTES CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT?

NRS 200.508 defines child abuse and neglect as any act in which a person “willfully causes a child who is less than 18 years of age to suffer unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering as a result of abuse or neglect” or places a child under 18 years old “in a situation where the child may suffer physical pain or mental suffering as the result of abuse or neglect.”

PENALTIES FOR CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT IN LAS VEGAS:

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm does result to the child, the person is guilty of a category B felony and will be punished:

    • A minimum term of two years and a maximum term of 20 years in a state prison

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm does result to the child due to sexual abuse or exploitation, the person is guilty of a category A felony and will be punished:

    • Imprisonment for life with possibility of parole after a minimum of 15 years have been served

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm does not result to the child and the person has not been previously convicted of a child abuse or neglect violation, he/she is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished:

    • A minimum term of 1 year and a maximum term for 6 years in a state prison.

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm does not result to the child and the person has been previously convicted of a child abuse or neglect violation, he/she is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished:

    • A minimum term of 2 years and a maximum term for 15 years in a state prison.

If a person allows a child to suffer physical or mental abuse or to be placed in a situation where the child can suffer mental or physical abuse:

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm results to the child, the person is guilty of a category B felony and will be punished:

    • A minimum term of 2 years and a maximum term of 20 years in a state prison

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm results to the child, and the child is less than 14 years old and the harm is the result of sexual abuse or exploitation, the person is guilty of a category A felony and will be punished:

    • Imprisonment for life with possibility of parole after a minimum of 10 years have been served

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm does not result to the child and the person has not been previously convicted of a child abuse or neglect violation, he/she is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

  • If substantial bodily or mental harm does result to the child and the person has been previously convicted of a child abuse or neglect violation, the person is guilty of a category C felony and will be punished:

    • A minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years in a state prison; and

    • A possible fine of no more than $10,000

DEFENSES TO CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT CHARGES IN LAS VEGAS:

  • The act was accidental. In certain cases, children can sustain injuries that appear to be done by another person but are really just from the children playing around and getting injured themselves.

  • The child suffered no physical or emotional injuries. If the child did not sustain any physical or mental injuries, the child abuse or neglect claims cannot be proved.

  • False accusations. In certain cases, angry ex-spouses will falsify child abuse claims to make to other parent appear less competent.

Child abuse and neglect charges are extremely serious and require an experienced Las Vegas criminal defense attorney to handle the case. If you or anyone you know has been charged with child abuse or neglect, it is important that you contact a qualified attorney who can get you the results you deserve. Contact Adrian Lobo today at (702) 290-8998 to schedule a consultation.